COIMBATORE: After Prime Minister Narendra Modi and senior BJP leader L K Advani, BJP national president Amit Shah will visit Coimbatore on March 21 to participate in the closing ceremony of the annual meeting of RSS’s Akhil Bharatiya Pratinidhi Sabha. Besides Amit Shah, Union minister for road transport and highways Nitin Gadkari is also likely to participate in the meeting.

For the first time in its 92-year history, the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS) will organise its annual meeting in Tamil Nadu. “Since its inception in 1925, this is the first time that the organisation’s AGM will be held in Tamil Nadu. It will be held at Amrita University between March 19 and 21,” said state deputy leader for media relations R Suryanarayanan.

Asked if this meeting is being organised keeping in mind the political scenario in Tamil Nadu, Suryanarayanan said, “This has got nothing to do with the political situation. The decision to organise the meeting was taken in the previous meeting itself (last year).”

The Right-wing organisation and the parent outfit of the BJP plans to strengthen its base in Tamil Nadu. “We have 400 full-time volunteers in Tamil Nadu. We plan to increase our volunteers’ strength and reach out to all the villages in Tamil Nadu and spread the RSS ideology,” said Suryanrayanan.

Asked if there was a target to achieve in terms of enrolling volunteers, the spokesperson said, “We do not have any targets.”

RSS chief Mohan Bhagwat and national general secretary Suresh Bhaiyyaji Joshi will inaugurate the meeting.

“On the second day, we will discuss key social and national issues, and resolutions will be passed based on the discussions,” Suryanarayanan said.

“Amit Shah will participate on the closing ceremony. Union minister for road transport and highways Nitin Gadkari is also expected to participate,” he added.

Asked about home minister Rajnath Singh, who is a core RSS member, Suryanarayanan said, “We are not aware about his programme yet.”

A total of 1,500 members will take part in the meeting. “Members of the RSS and its constituent organisations -BJP, Vishwa Hindu Parishad, Bharatiya Kisan Sangh and Bharatiya Mazdoor Sangh – will participate,” said Suryanaryanan.