Published On: Sat, Jan 27th, 2018

New Vedic Committee for Durga temple | The Hans India

Vijayawada: The new Vedic Committee was formed comprising five members for Durga temple. In-Charge Commissioner YV Anuradha reduced the members from 10 to five while reconstituting the panel.

Temple sthanacharya V Sivaprasada Sarma, temple main priest L Durga Prasad, Yajurveda pundit Shanmukeshwara Sastry, Adarvanaveda pundit Kapilavai Ramakrishna Sastry and Malleswara Sastry are now members in the committee.

Only Malleswara Sastry has been appointed newly in the committee, while Shankar Sandilya, Rangavarjula Srinivasa Sastry, VL Narasimha Rao, Badrinath Babu, Vysa Maharshi were transferred from Vedic Committee. The Vedic Committee will play an important role in temple puja issues.

The in-charge executive officer took the decision due to the recent tantric puja controversy. According to sources, the temple staff would be reshuffled totally in next few days. The Chief Minister’s Office has also directed the higher officials towards reshuffle of staff by depending on track record.

It may be noted that already the government has posted new executive officer for Durga temple as part of staff reshuffle. The state government wants to run the temple administration smoothly by stopping controversies, said one temple official on condition of anonymity.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>