Published On: Tue, Feb 28th, 2017

Land purification ceremony for ISKCON Lotus Temple at MIHAN held

Nagpur: The Land Purification Ceremony of Lotus Temple to be built by International Society for Krishna Consciousness (ISKCON) was held recently. The grand ISKCON Lotus Temple will come up at under-construction Emperean Township at Kotewada in MIHAN area. The Land Purification by fire archer amidst chanting of Hare Krishna Mahamantra and blowing of conchs. The ceremony was conducted by Anantshesh Das.

Former Mayor Pravin Datke, who was chief guest on the occasion, was felicitated and welcomed by Princi Rajesh Joshi alias Pritiwardhini Dasi, Kumari Narayani and Shilpa Motghare. President of ISKCON Temple Gaur Krishna Das presented mementoes to the chief guest.

The Spokesman of ISKCON Dr Shyamsundar Sharma said that Lotus flower has been associated with Lord Krishna. The Lord’s eyes resemble the beauty of a lotus. His face is also like a lotus. Therefore, the logo of Iskcon is lotus. This is the reason we decided to construct this unique temple. It will be constructed on a portion of 152-acre campus of Empyrean Township.

The grand temple will consist of darshan mandapa, prasadam hall for 1,500, diorama, interpretation centre and an auditorium. Other facilities will include Vedic samaskara hall for 1,500 persons, Hare Krishna spiritual mall, Govinda restaurant, centre for Vedic education and Vedanta library, senior sannyasi ashram, guesthouse and much more.

The concept of a green building will be incorporated at all levels. The focus is on green building construction to protect environment, sustainable site planning, water and energy efficiency and management. Iskcon said the Lotus Temple will be a tribute to Swami Prabhupada, its founder.

A large number of devotees including Nadnkishore Das, Bhagirath Das, Advaitacharya Das, Madhur Nimai Prabhu, Navavidha Bhakti Dasi, Manmohana Dasi, Adishaktidevi Dasi, Rajesh Joshi Prabhu, Krushnanand Das, and others.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>